How To Find A Career Coach

I provide solutions to help you with your career coach whether that’s a career transition or just finding a new job I know how difficult it can be to be in a position that may not be fulfilling and to find a new position. so I help people with that as well, so I have some slides prepared for you today so I’m going to go ahead and put the slides up on the screen and I’m also going to be doing a screen share. so I got a lot of questions like always about LinkedIn so I’m gonna actually be sharing my screen my LinkedIn page with you to kind of show you some things that will help you hopefully make a better LinkedIn profile, so let’s go ahead and start with this first question.

if you’re here or if you’re listening to this replay hello Jamie submitted a question and she said after submitting an application is it good to follow up. if so when and how many excuse me when and how and then she says many times the person responsible for hiring is unknown I loved when Jamie Simmons this question because I get I tall the time.

it’s hard to know when you submit an application and even a resume if you hear nothing back it’s hard to know how pushy should you be when should you respond, when should you reach out my recommendation is always to follow-up within a week so an email would be appropriate to kind of reach out for the first that first line of contact would just be to send a quick email you could say something like you know. hey, I hope this email finds you well earlier this month or last week I submitted my resume or application for this position and you would kind of talk about the position talk about the company – and then you would say something like I’m very excited to learn about this position and if you have some type of connection with the position may be somebody works for the company that you know mention that in there. so you’re really just trying to do what you can to stand out from other applicants and kind of get your yourself to the top of the employer’s mind

And you also want to talk about in that email when you reach out it’s it’s kind of like another way to say hey I’m a qualified candidate and this is why and you mentioned your your expertise and your qualifications and then and then you would go through and just you know at the end of that message just say hey do you need anything else for me you know and make this a nice professional message but an email within one week is a good a good practice to follow another thing you could do is follow up with a phone call now I know that Jamie mentioned that it’s hard to find who’s hiring for the position my recommendation is always to jump on over to LinkedIn look at the company most likely you’ll see the positions listed that the company is hiring for and then you can find a hiring manager if not find someone within the company that you can contact or reach out to to get yourself in front of the right person there’s the famous saying you’ve all heard.

it before the squeaky wheel gets the grease this is not the time to be bashful within reason you want to make sure you’re following up and I would say follow up every week for probably two to three weeks maybe a month if you get to that point where you’re just not hearing back my recommendation would be to move on from that but don’t you know don’t shy awayfrom from really following through oh and I do have I have a video that mighthelp Jamie as well so this it would actually be after the follow up happensin fact I’ll go ahead and place this video it’s a link to how to follow upafter your interview.

so I’m going to go ahead and just place that in to the chatand that has some really good tips in there as well so hopefully that helpsJamie that was a really good question okay next question comes from Lauren soLauren says what type of job do I focus on my LinkedIn profile if I’m lookingfor customer service jobs and Social Work jobs she says I’m neutral towardwhich one I obtain as a job so the fantastic thing about your situationLauren is that you’re open to many opportunities the disadvantage is thatnow you got to figure out how to tailor your your LinkedIn profile and I’m goingto also say your resume to what to each position now one way you could go aboutyour LinkedIn profile is you want to try and focus as much as you can ontransferable skills.

so I’m going to share I’m going to actually share my myLinkedIn screen with you in just a second here so you can see what I’mtalking about but transferable skills or they’re alsocalled exchangeable skills are skills that would apply to both positions soagain this would be written and verbal communication leadership managementcustomer service could even apply to both of those teamwork is a big oneorganizational skills maybe you’re good with numbers or data so you want tofocus on those types of skills for both positions so things that the employerwould really enjoy no matter what position you’re looking for now let meshare I’m gonna share my screen with you and I’m I’m hoping this is gonna workbecause I haven’t done a screen share with my with with I’m gonna share my myFirefox screen with you so give me just a second here and I want to show youreally quickly okay so this is my LinkedIn profile and if I if I’m lookingat my LinkedIn profile and I want to focus on my skills or endorsements andthings like that what I want you to do for anyone Lauren and anyone else withthis same question is scroll down your LinkedIn page.

so this is my LinkedIn page now mine’s gonna look different on on my end because this is me looking atit as my page so it will look a little bit different for you but if you scrollall the way to the bottom of your link page you’ll notice that you have theskills and endorsements section this is where you actually want to go throughand list those skills that will apply to both positions now here’s the cool thingat anytime you can click on add a new skill and LinkedIn is actually going torecommend certain skills for you based on what you’ve put in your profile soyou could do it that way the other thing you can do is.

if you just click on the pencil icon this shows you a number of skills that you can and these are all skills I’ve added to my own profile you’ll want to add the skills that show you in the greatest light for the position that you want to apply for now the top three skills you’ll notice in here will be the ones that you want to be known for and if I remember right LinkedIn allows you to add 50 now I’veonly I only have 36 listed so kind of think about how you want to do that you don’t want to clutter it too much you really want to stay focused on some of the key skills that will make you stand out in the position so I hope that that helps answer your question okay let’s jump back to our next question so that was from Lauren this question is from mala and she is very active in the Rainkraft she actually posted this question a while ago but I thought it was really important to share. because I get this question a lot. so she says can you tell me which industries or sectors and career coach are showing stable progressive growth so she really wants to know what industries are growing right now.

And she’s got she’s getting particular with like geopolitical analysis business and information services so I’m gonna go back and I’m going to share my screen with you again. because I do have theseare the resources that I shared with her when she first asked me this questionand it’s really interesting to take a look and see what is is really growingand Jess is here in the comments so she’s gonna go ahead and place theselinks for you so that you can pull them up as well.

so if we look at the first one now I’m such a big fan of the Bureau of Labor Statistics so this is a resource available to anyone and it mainly applies to the United States but really I think this can apply to anyone anywhere in the world because it can kind of show you what occupations are on the rice so there’s a few links in here this first one is just the fastest-growing occupations and if you scroll down the list you’ll notice it gives you the growth rate and it’s same from 2016 to 20 2026 basically and if you just scroll down the home health aides are in-demand personal care aides you’ll see there’s a lot in the health care industry.

so if if you’re looking at going into the healthcare industry now is a really good time to do this and then also this is the cool thing is it shows what the salary is so the median pay and this was 2017 it’s going to adjust a little bit as time goes on but this is they don’t have the statistics yet for 2018 but for last year you can see like a physician’s assistant their median salary would be a hundred and four thousand per year so one way when you’re actually deciding on what industry to go into and I have a lot of clients and students that are in the same situation look at what’s on the trend or what’s on the rise and if you need education or special training what is that going to cost you so you know.

if you’re if you have to go and you want to be a physician’s assistant and you know you’re gonna end up making a hundred and four thousand dollars a year but yet you’re gonna come out of school with you know debt like two or three hundred thousand dollars of debt does that make sense for you financially so you got it you got to look at it and not in those terms as well now there’s another link in here I want to share and this occupations with the most job growth so it’s a little bit different the cool thing about this is this also shows you the 2016 and then it all shows you all the way up to 2026 what the outlook is on that and then it shows you the median range per Scuse me the median annual wage.

so kind of look through this list and you know medical assistance that looks like you know you have that something to consider there’s teacher assistance in here financial assistance this is really the occupations with the most job growth so Jess will place both of those links in the comment section and you guys can look at that and just make a determining basis on is that something you might want to go so I’m glad that that maila an asked that question okay let’s jump over to our next question so our next question comes from Alana Alana is also a big participant in our group their Rainkraft on Facebook.

so I loved one she asked this question and I told her that I would actually discuss a little bit more in this Q&A session so she says I was interviewed by both the ABC affiliates and PBS affiliates for ABC they have a video and a written story about her interview for PBS they have an audio and a written story she’s wondering what should I do should I post this on my LinkedIn profile she’s like it seems like embedding code should be used any tips.

so I want to show really quick Alana what I would do if I were you so I’m gonna jump back to my LinkedIn screen again and when it comes to any interviews or any publications that you have of yourself or any articles that were either written of you or articles that you’ve written you want to share as much as you can out there you won’t you want to kind of gain that notoriety and that authority.

so one thing you can do there’s a couple there’s actually a couple way I’d like to put some of my most popular videos or articles inside my profile. so when I’m building out when I’m helping someone build out a profile or I’m kind of enhancing my own profile inside the introduction sections I’m on LinkedIn and you can do this on your own on your site.

if I click on the little pencil that is my intro area and I can scroll all the way down and this shows me the media section so inside this media section you can upload documents photos slide videos presentations notice thatI’ve just uploaded a few of my videos from YouTube so you can do that and that will make it.

so that if someone comes to your LinkedIn profile they can see some of the things that you’ve done now I wouldn’t just do it there Ilanawhat I would actually do is if you go to your news feed so I’m gonna just click on the home button at the top on my newsfeed right here I can share an article a photo a video a document or an idea now I recommend to anyone. I know it’s super scary at first when if you if you’re not used to posting on social media or even on LinkedIn because it’s a professional platform I recommend to anyone just start small so Ilana you could say something like hey you know here’s my recent interview with so-and-so and this is what we talked about and go ahead and post that there now if I go I’m just gonna show you kind of some of the ideas so that you can kind of get an idea for what I have posted recently.

so for me I was on if any one of you knows on our onion she’s fantastic she’s amazing I was on her podcast last week and I just shared it was so fun to spend some time with Anna on her podcast discussing salary negotiation for women so something super simple that’s all I wrote it can just be a one-sentence it doesn’t have to go into a lot of detail now the other thing you could consider doing Alana is you could repurpose that content and you could put it into an article.

so if you click on articles this will allow you to go in and actually type an article so an article is going to be a little bit longer or a post is just a quick item to share in your news feed and then don’t be afraid to share it multiple times so for example if I look at my post, for example, I think I shared this last week I could also share it again the week in case there there are people that didn’t see it you know you’ll notice if you scroll through your feed you’ll have different views on your post so, for example, this one only got 253 views if I scroll down I have another post that got 361 they all vary depending on how many people have liked or commented on your post.

so just keep that in mind but definitely share it inside your profile any of any important videos articles whatever it might be share that inside your profile and also post it to your news feed and invite others to share it as well in their news feed so really good question thanks for asking that one okay last question here so this is from Michael and Michael just asked this the other day he says how do I add bullet points and bold headlines in the summary section on LinkedIn now I didn’t mean for this whole Q&A section to be about LinkedIn but I get so many questions about it that I thought I’m sure other people are wondering the same thing so I’m going to jump back to my LinkedIn profile again and Michael is asking about the bullet point.

so when you go to your profile and you’re actually trying to create your profile let’s just go to the summary section since that’s what he asked about there’s really no way to add bullet points like LinkedIn doesn’t say well at least not that I know of that there they’re increasing and changing their platform every day but there’s really no way to add bullet points into your profile anywhere and you want to break up the content.

so it looks nice so I always recommend short sweet paragraphs and then use those bullet points but this is what this is another link that I shared with Michael and this is it’s just it’s a quick little article and there’s probably even more up-to-date articles than this but I like this one because it’s really quick out of glance all you need to do if you want to share a bullet point is you just copy and paste one of these symbols that’s it you don’t have to do anything special so let’s say I wanted to use this star I would just highlight this star and do Coffee and then I would come back over to my LinkedIn profile, of course, I need to edit my summary here and it could also be in your work experience section too and I would just paste it right in front of where I would want that bullet point to be.

so there’s really no way to actually add like a traditional bullet point but using resources online like this I really liked this article because there are so many like he has stars copyrights subscripts and superscripts and subscripts checkmarks so on and so forth so really there’s the possibility of using bullet points are limitless now I wouldn’t go overboard I’ve seen some profiles that they just jam-pack bullet these random characters inside their headline in their summary in their work experience keep it clean and sophisticated don’t go crazy but you know you could there’s just there are so many items that you could use.

so that’s what I would do in terms of bullet points so really quickly if you are here live or if you are listening to this as the replay go ahead and comment down below what was your biggest takeaway today what was the thing that really that you enjoyed learning the most was it LinkedIn I know I talked a lot about LinkedIn or maybe it was the job growth market.

so if you think about what positions are growing and I know that’s a question I get a lot or was it really how to follow up if you haven’t heard back from applying for a position so go ahead and comment below you.

For More Info:- Content agency

Also Read:- Best SEO Content Writing Service In India – Rain Kraft

https://trello.com/c/gvGvyJzY

https://visual.ly/users/rainkraft/portfolio

Published by Rain Kraft

Rain Kraft is offering transformation services for your business, your workplace & people, and you with business and executive coaching, content management and learning solution. The focus of Rain Kraft is to empower the workplaces according to today's priority. Along with that, we target to mentor women to restart or come back into their careers. On another side, we offer content writing services for businesses, events, and individuals. Visit Here:- https://www.rainkraft.in/content-writing-services.html

2 thoughts on “How To Find A Career Coach

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started